Community Medicine

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Department of Community Medicine

The Department was established in the G. R. Medical College on 1-8-49 as the department of Hygiene and Public Health. Dr. B. N. Kolekar then Deputy Director of Health Services, Madhya Bharat was appointed as a part-time lecturer in this department.   Classes were started and taken in the Clinical Lecture theatre. Three lectures were delivered per week besides giving 36  field demonstrations during the course. Later in the year a scheme for expansion of the department, initiating a Public Health Laboratory for analysis of food and water besides opening of D.P.H. classes was submitted and expansion of the existing college building was proposed to establish a  separate department till then a room adjacent to the medical college library  was allotted for running the department .

                        A library in the department was initiated from the beginning and a department museum was also started.  A preliminary health survey of the village Panihar was done by the staff of the department in early years. In 1952, B.C.G. immunisation programme was started by the department. The B.C.G. team carried out this work in the whole state of Madhya Bharat besides the statewide small pox vaccination programme.  In the year 1953 Dr. Kolekar,who attended the first  International Planned parenthood conference at Bombay, was appointed Professor in the department. By 1954, the name of the department was changed to that of Preventive and Social Medicine Department. In the same year a course of Sanitary Inspectors training was also started. A sanitarian Mr. H. Street was deputed by the W.H.O. to assist in the field demonstration to the Sanitary Inspectors specially for the construction of sanitary latrines in the rural areas. On the retirement of  Dr. B. N. Kolekar, he was succeeded by Dr. S. L. Dubey in 1960.

Dr.  Ashok Mishra
Professor and Head


  1. Dr. Ashok Mishra, Professor & Head
  2.  Dr. Anil Agarwal, Professor (TSP)
  3.  Dr. Ranjana Tiwari,  Professor (TSP)
  4.  Dr. Manoj Bansal, Associate Professor
  5.  Dr. Mahendra Chaukse, Associate Professor (Designated) 
  6.  Dr. Praveen Gautam, Associate Professor (Designated) 
  7.  Dr. Avadhesh Diwakar, Associate Professor (Designated) 
  8.  Dr. Ramniwas Mahor, Assistant Professor
  9.  Dr. Akshat Pathak, Assistant Professor
  10.  Dr. Richa Changulani, Assistant Professor
  11.  Dr. Rita Patel, Demonstrator
  12.  Dr. Rajesh Yadav, Demonstrator
  13.  Dr. Apeksha Bhale, Demonstrator
  14.  Dr. Susmita Mungi, Demonstrator
  15.  Dr. Aditya Tiwari, Demonstrator
  16.  Dr. Kirti Shrivastava, Demonstrator
  17.  Dr. Bhavna Kicholia, Demonstrator
  18.  Mr. Durgesh Shukla, Statistician cum Demonstrator
Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.